A Simple Way to Revitalize Your Wardrobe Without Buying More

Courtney Kerr's long bob hairstyle

Image source: courtneykerry.com

There comes a time when a girl says, I’ve had it with my hair. There comes a day when every girl chops off a good 5 inches. Sometimes it’s on a whim and other times it’s carefully planned and plotted.

Two weeks ago, I bravely walked into my stylist’s arms and showed her a picture of the “Courtney Kerr bob.” She was excited, I was scared.

I almost didn’t go through with it. But I took a few “big girl” deep breaths and reassured myself it’s only hair. Hair grows and there are far more things to concern myself with than something that can be easily changed, or remedied or pulled back into a ponytail. (But us girls have such great attachment to our hair, don’t we?)

Fast forward nearly two hours later–cut & color–and the hair that swings above my shoulders feels light and free. The damaged and frayed ends, which took me three years to grow, lie limply on the floor ready to be swept away.

I’m happy with my decision to let it go. I don’t miss it like I thought I would.

What I didn’t expect or remember from the previous cut it all off! rampages was the way a new and very different hairstyle seems to revitalize a tired wardrobe. Is it the inner confidence we feel from such a drastic change? Is it the fun new ways our hairstyles categorize our overall style? Whatever it is, I like it and I hope the feeling decides to make itself at home for a very long time.

XO RTC

5 thoughts on “A Simple Way to Revitalize Your Wardrobe Without Buying More

Leave a Reply

