Minus the Cream Artichoke Soup

creamy artichoke soup

There is nothing more comforting than a steaming bowl of soup on a cold night.  At my house, soup is on the menu weekly during the fall & winter months.  Whipping up a batch on a Sunday night lightens the load in the kitchen for the time consuming work week.  Pursing the internet for new soup recipes is a gulity pleasure of mine.  A couple of weeks ago, Giada De Lautentiis had a segment on the Today Show impressing the hosts with her culinary skills and impressing me with her stuffed artichoke soup.  I quadrupled the original recipe (4 dinners and 3 lunches by doing so) and made some alterations.  Be sure to check out Giada’s recipe – my tweaks are below!

*The biggest substitution I made was swapping the mascarpone for a can of cannellini beans (rinsed and strained) – protein is always good.  In addition, I added a cup of freshly grated parmesan because cheese is awesome.   I also used vegetable stock instead of chicken stock for no particular reason.  For garnish, fresh parsley, pecorino romano, and hot pepper seeds did the trick.

I was delighted with the results.  I have two words for this deliciously “creamy” artichoke soup: Nom and nom!

6 thoughts on “Minus the Cream Artichoke Soup

  1. Pingback: Thai Chicken Soup | THE SCARECROW

Leave a Reply

