Who’s That Girl: Two Looks Inspired by Zooey Deschanel

Zooey Deschanel Looks

Sweater: Welkie Fashion | Skirt: Ally Fashion | Bow Loafers: Dorothy Perkins | Dress: Dorothy Perkins | Cat Loafers: F21

Red Tag Confession:  I kind of love New Girl.  It is definitely a show that grew on me, and it’s pretty funny.  I rarely miss an episode.  Did anyone watch last night?  In honor of the new season, let’s talk Zooey style.

While I was deciding whether or not I liked New Girl, I’m pretty sure Zooey Dechanel’s stylist kept me hooked.  Zooey’s character, Jess, wears the cutest, retro meets ladylike-prep items.  She was one of the first to wear J. Crew’s infamous cashmere polka dot pullover.  (Blue & green; and sold out within days.)  I find myself googling phrases like “Zooey’s Blue Bow Coat” from time to time.  The coat I adored was from Kate Spade’s fall 2012 line – it was sold out, too.  That girl has expensive taste for a teacher who was laid off!

You don’t have to spend a fortune steal New Girl style.  A bow, a skater skirt, a dot or a stripe can be transformed into a “Jess” look.  It’s pretty awesome that she wears mostly flats and opaque tights – comfy counts!  The outfits above are simple and classic.  And yes, Zooey’s character would absolutely wear both ensembles.

I wouldn’t say this is my everyday style, but I love acquiring fashion inspiration from sources that can also make me laugh!  Who is your favorite celebrity fashionista?  I have about 4 favorites.  Do you have more than one fav, as well?

XO RTC

14 thoughts on “Who’s That Girl: Two Looks Inspired by Zooey Deschanel

  1. this post goes straight to my fashion heart. I adore her style!! I also was on the fence about New Girl. The show is hit and miss for me, but the episodes I love make it worth watching every one. Plus, I’d hate to miss out on seeing what Jess is wearing 🙂

  2. I love the pleated skirt and the striped top! Both are amazing staples in any wardrobe! Those kitty flats are adorable and a total steal in comparison to the Charlotte Olympia originals! Breaking Bad is amazing – you must check it out! There’s only one episode left and it’s the series finale…I can’t wait!

    xo jen
    Pearls & Lace

    • Looks like I am waaaay behind on Breaking Bad! It’s been on since 2008? It appears I’ve been living under a rock! Anyhow, the flats… Did you happen to see the Charlotte leopard kitty flats? They’re super cute – would look lovely with all of your mint pieces!

  3. Pingback: 13 Most Read Blog Posts of 2013 | Red Tag Couture

Leave a Reply

