Dominique Ansel Makes a Mean Macaron

Dominique Ansel Macarons

While I’m sure the Cronut is everything they say it is and more, I won’t go to Dominique Ansel to participate in sheep-like, long line waiting-in behavior.  I can hold off until the crowds dwindle.  At Dominique Ansel, the macarons are the real star.

On a recent trip to NYC, I told my husband I intended to hunt for the perfect macaron.  He put up a minor fight.  I don’t really like those circus peanut things.  Do they sell madeleines there?  He had never tasted a decent macaron.  Before long, we were zipping through SoHo with some made-to-order madeleines and box of pastel perfection.

I decided they should be enjoyed with champagne. (Everything is better with champagne.) DA macarons are not too sweet and have decadent fillings – they’re beyond fresh.  My favorite flavor?  ALL OF THEM.  Seriously.  It took me forever to finish a single macaron because I didn’t want it to end.  I slowly savored the chocolate – always my last pick when choosing any dessert.  They were so amazing that I didn’t even want to go to Laudree to taste an alternative.  At less than $25 for a box of 9 these macarons meet the RTC under $50 criteria, too!  Just keeps getting better.

You can find these cuties at 189 Spring St in the SoHo area of NYC.  It’s a great neighborhood for shopping and dining.

Oh, and by the way, my husband is now a macaron convert.

Hooray for Friday!  This short week felt kind of long & I am looking forward to a little R&R.  While I can’t celebrate the weekend with a Dominique Ansel macaron (if only they could be shipped – hint, hint), I believe I am due for a special treat!  What’s your favorite weekend dessert/treat?

XO RTC

9 thoughts on “Dominique Ansel Makes a Mean Macaron

  1. I live in NYC and have not come across Dominique Ansel Bakery (189 Spring Street) – so thank you for the info! I will have to try these macaroons you mention!
    My weekend desert treat is gelato from Ciao Bella (27 East 92nd Street) which is a great stop to make after visiting the Met, Copper Hewitt (under renovation until 2014, so sad!), or the Jewish Museum!

    • You should try the bakery! The sandwiches are an equally delicious precursor to the macarons. If you go let me know what you think! PS Gelato makes for another lovely treat. Next time I’m in the city I’ll have to try your place. Oh, and isn’t the Copper Hewitt such a gorgeous building?

  2. I have never tried one of these, but they keep popping up on blogs everywhere. I have myself convinced I won’t like them because I’m not a fan of meringue, but I will withhold judgment until I try one of these things!

    • I dislike meringue, too. I can’t put my finger on it… are they chalky or overly powdery? I have had some terrible macarons. Erin actually helped me keep the faith in them! I think the key is finding an authentic French bakery/recipe. Let us know when you try one!

Leave a Reply

