Touring Lower Manhattan & Save or Splurge

Dare to do NYC in an unconventional way.  While most visitors flock to Central Park, I’d rather head to Lower Manhattan.  Battery Park is an enjoyable, less crowded, slice of the Big Apple.  Hotel rates are reasonable – a stark contrast to other sections of the city.  If you don’t mind walking (for me this is half the fun), you’ll save on cab rides, too.  Battery Park is quiet and lacks big-name design house storefronts like Prada and Chanel.  Completely refreshing.  FYI:  Businesses close early in this area. Plan accordingly!

room view

Battery Park at night

Not sure how I managed to snap this crazy looking shot from the rooftop bar at the Conrad:

Roof Top Bar

The last time my husband and I were in the city, we caught up with some friends. Our night began on Stone Street in Lower Manhattan at a cozy little wine & whiskey bar, Vintry.  Stone St. has a European feel.  Imagine a narrow cobble stone road blocked off from traffic and lined with eateries.  Being the gracious hosts that they are, our friends ordered ahead and treated us to champagne and a variety of small plates upon out arrivial.

Friends: We ordered roasted nuts, marinated olives, cheese, eggplant caponata, and a few of other plates we thought you’d like.
Us: Thanks!  Yes, we’re starving.  This looks fantastic.  Oooooh, champagne.  We love Piper Heidsiek.  Sip, sip, sippity sip!

I glanced over to the end of the table and spotted a plate I hadn’t initially noticed.  What are these?, I asked as I simultaneously grabbed a handful of (pistachios, maybe?) and popped them in my mouth.  Odd.  A slimy, cold sensation.  When I bit down, the (nuts?) felt like stones.

Friends: (Jaws agape.  Eyes extremely wide.)  That’s where we’ve been putting the OLIVE PITS. 

It happened.  I can’t undo it.  Gross and equally hysterical.  I mistook pits for pistachios.  Life lesson: Wear your glasses.  Or, suck it up and put contacts on your eyeballs.  Here’s a little save or splurge inspiration for your next eyewear purchase – because tearing through this world with poor vision is obviously the pits!

glasses 2 RTC

Save: 39 Dollar Glasses| Splurge: Tom Ford via Bloomingdale’s

Can you tell the $45 pair from the $450 pair?  Are expensive prescription eyeglasses something you’re more willing to spend a little extra cash on?  I tend to think of an eyewear purchase as an investment.  My glasses get ample use, but I’m not certain there is too much of a difference between $100 frames and a $500 pair.  The jury is still out.  What are your thoughts on the eyewear debate… or are you still disgusted by my pitty-ful experience?

XO RTC

4 thoughts on “Touring Lower Manhattan & Save or Splurge

  1. Gah!!! Oh no! I’m also completely unable to see basically anything without my glasses, so I actually totally understand this! Personally, I splurge on glasses; there’s been a few times where I can find them on sale (my current Coach pair), but it’s a bit tricky. I figure because I wear them daily (allergic to contacts), it’s worth an investment. I’ve had a few pairs for upwards of five years that still look brand new!

    • I am still horrified by the experience, haha! ICK! I agree… Spending a little extra cash on glasses doesn’t feel frivolous. You can have them for years if you keep them nice. There is usually a table in Lens Crafters with sale items on it – it’s hit or miss, though. I purchased a pair of Gucci’s from there (years ago) on super sale and felt like a bandit!

  2. Pingback: Cloth Yourself in Shades of Wine | Red Tag Couture

Leave a Reply

