Ricotta Stuffed Strawberries with Pistachios & Dark Chocolate

berries with pistachio R

I love cooking, but I get slightly uncomfortable when friends/family request a homemade dessert. The mere thought of following a precise baking recipe makes me want to donate my oven.  With that, I have become the master of creating (or finding and replicating) beautiful “no-bake” confections.  If you’re in a pinch and need something sweet to bring to a holiday party these simple stuffed strawberries will please the crowd.  The first time I made the berries I whipped them up for a girl’s night and served with champagne.  They were a hit.  Not to mention super easy and relativity inexpensive  – I had all ingredients on hand with the excepion of the ricotta and berries.

Ingredients:

16 oz. strawberries
1 cup (or 2) ricotta cheese
2 tablespoons honey
1 ½ tablespoons vanilla
1 tablespoon of lemon zest
Pinch of confectioners’ sugar (to taste)
1/4 cup mini dark chocolate chips/chunks
1/4 cup chopped pistachios (roasted & unsalted)

Directions:

Wash and hull strawberries.  If you’d like your berry to stand upright, cut the bottom of each.  Set prepared berries aside.  Mix honey, vanilla, and lemon zest into ricotta cheese.  Add confectioners’ sugar to taste.  Place cheese mixture into a Ziploc sandwich bag.  Cut the bottom corner of the bag for piping.  Pipe cheese mixture into hulled strawberries.  (If this seems like too much work – don’t bother.  Simply stuff the strawberries with a teaspoon.) Sprinkle berries with dark chocolate and pistachios. Serve and enjoy immediately!

Hulling Strawberries

I was more excited than I should’ve been when I realized I had a reason to use my paring knife…

Hulled Strawberries

I added an extra dash of zest for good looks…

Berries with zest

berries finished

Confession: I tend to under sugar everything because I don’t really care for overly sweet desserts.  The idea to add confectionary sugar came from the hesitation my husband gave me when I asked if the ricotta mixture needed anything else.  Um, no, it’s um, good.  You’re going to put chocolate on there, right?  In husband code that meant: I love you and I don’t want to insult your efforts; but THIS NEEDS SUGAR!  The beauty of this recipe is that you can sweeten the filling to your liking!

We’re big into food here at Red Tag Couture, and we think these cuties would be the perfect addition to your 4th of July menu.  Tell us, what treats are you planning to eat on the holiday weekend?

XO RTC

5 thoughts on “Ricotta Stuffed Strawberries with Pistachios & Dark Chocolate

  1. Pingback: Fashion Face-Off: Red & White Colorblock Dress | Red Tag Couture

  2. Pingback: Test-Kitchen Chic | Red Tag Couture

Leave a Reply

